Render samples act weird

YinaYina Posts: 10

Hey!

I'm relatively new to DAZ and to the forum, so I hope this is the right place for my problem.

I have a specific scene, where whenever I push the "Render" Button, it just renders the scene with 1000 samples, no matter what I put in the settings. I restored the render settings by clicking "defaults" and I also tried other render settings I have available, restarting DAZ also does nothing, always the same horrific looking 1k samples. I never encountered this problem before.

I have two suspicions:
1) Somewhere there's an option which can override the samples I put in the render settings tab. (could be a product I used, and I just don't know about this option..)
2) It's just a bug and this is my life now.

Has somebody else come across this weird problem? Do you have a solution?

Comments

• Are you sure that it isn't just stopping for another reason - by default it will stop at 2 hours or 95% converged, as well as for samples. Check the log file (Help>Troubleshooting>View Log File) to see why it stopped.

• YinaYina Posts: 10
    Hey, thanks for the suggestion. I will look at the log as soon as I'm back at my PC. It doesn't just stop, the progressbar says it's 100% done. This takes only a couple of minutes, and observing the iterations while rendering, it's at 100% with 1000 iterations.
  • That sounds as if it is reaching the target convergence (95%), since that is what the progress bar measures (the percentage of actual convergence relative to the target value, not the actual convergence ratio itself).

Hey, thanks for your help. I understand what you are saying, but I'm lacking some knowledge. 95% of what? I set the render settings to default and only bumped up max samples to 10k, like I always do without issues. How is the target conversion then around 1k? And how do I change that? I'm sorry if I sound stupid, I really don't understand it.
  • crosswindcrosswind Posts: 5,455

Yina said: