How to pick an upgrade for my current build?

serialchiller09serialchiller09 Posts: 25
edited April 2023 in New Users
I'm new to Daz and have an older gaming rig. Msi gtx 1660ti 6gb, Intel xeon E5 1680 V2 CPU, Asus Rampage Gene IV board, Toshiba 500gb ssd, 2tb hard disk, 32gb ddr3 ram. As you can imagine I'm having trouble rendering anything of substance due to lack of vram. I'm considering upgrading amd would like to get some recommendations on what specifically i should upgrade? I dont have a max budget in mind but $1k would be ideal. Id also like to know how to go about limiting the amount of vram I'm using. Is there an indicator of how much vram is taken by each material/asset? Thanks for your help!
Post edited by serialchiller09 on

Comments

• frank0314frank0314 Posts: 13,925
    edited April 2023

Look at getting at least 32GB of RAM and an RTX 3060 12GB VRAM, at minimum (but to get that and be able to utilize IRay you would need to get an Intel system) along with a 4tb and up external for all your content. I'd suggest getting a 1 TB SSD for your main system drive depending on how much software you have.

Post edited by frank0314 on
  • frank0314 said:

Look at getting at least 32GB of RAM and an RTX 3060 12GB VRAM, at minimum (but to get that and be able to utilize IRay you would need to get an Intel system) along with a 4tb and up external for all your content. I'd suggest getting a 1 TB SSD for your main system drive depending on how much software you have.

Thank you for your suggestions although I do have 32 gb ddr3 ram and my cpu is Intel xeon i5. Would I have any issue with my current cpu and a 3060 if I change my render settings to not allow cpu fallback? I know the cpu isn't ideal but I'd rather spend the money elsewhere if possible
  • How many threads does the CPU give? And what is the rating of the power supply? How much free space is there in the case? Modern GPUs draw a lot of power, and are big.