Blender to Daz

alaltaccalaltacc Posts: 151
edited February 2022 in New Users

(EDIT) I PARTIALLY solved (for the most part) my problem, so I'm writing my partial solution in a reply at the end of the thread. I still have things to consider and I will thank all the suggestions (for the absolute noob here) to creating things (at this point only props)in Blender and importing into Daz.

ORIGINAL POST:

I imagine it's a common question, but after searching not only the forums but also "the Internet" (that epic episode of "The IT Crowd" always come to mind when I say this) I turn to you, that are here ages longer than me.

So, I'm learning Blender. I put together a very good copy of my living room TV rack with textures and all, grouping things together as I should and etc. Then, I started trying to export to "some format" and import into Daz. I had success, but I still have a problem:

- If I export to an OBJ file, I lose all the textures AND my object is imported as a single "thing", no parts, no nothing (so I can't even apply different textures to different parts of the object)

- If I export to Collada (DAE), EVERYTHING works. I have my textures, all the parts are independent, etc. But... I have each piece of my object as a separate object and even if I parent or group them together in Daz they still are affected separately if I click in one of them and apply any transformation (moving, scaling, etc)

I've tried lots of things, followed dozens of suggestions "on the Internet" like changing options when exporting, but I always end up in one of the two situations above.

In my ideal, imaginary world, I would be able to export an object where I could CHOOSE parts to be movable (for example, I have two drawers on my rack that I would like to have the option to open or close in Daz), all the rest would be a monolyth (so, no dismantling my rack when trying to move it clicking in one of the pieces) AND I would have all the textures.