Face Transfer - should I wait?

Hello everyone!

I downloaded Daz3D less than a week ago by pure curiosity and now I'm wasting hours and hours a day playing with it. I don't have much background in anything 3D (apart from following a beginner's tutorial for Blender during the lockdown), but even so I'm already messing with morphing at this point. Fantastic (and easy to use) little piece of software.

But I digress.

I've played around with the Face Transfer (free) and was impressed with the results, as long as you feed it with the right source picture (as in absolutely frontal, no expression - mouth closed, no smile, etc -, good resolution, good lighting, etc). OK, it's not a miraculous tool and I'm sure there are better (and pricier) things out there, but as I'm only an amateur with no will, time or desire of going pro, it's a nice toy. :-) And yes, I read around in the forums about it, people tend to not like it so much - I'm probably an easy guy to please. ;-)

Anyway, my question is: for someone that will not be using for anything besides having a little fun, 50 dollars is pricy (especially because my currency is heavily devaluated relative to the US dollar in the moment). Hence my question: how frequent are the "sales" for this plugin (the unlimited version) and what discount should I expect in a sale? As I said I'm in no hurry, but I'm considering my options (from not buying it at all to buying it full price, but with the "sale" as a midpoint).

Thanks!

Comments

• MelanieLMelanieL Posts: 7,347
    edited January 2022

Well, it has been on sale at 60% off on four occasions in the last 6 months and down at 65% off once in a sale last June. I suggest you put it in your wishlist and keep your eyes open to spot the next time it goes on sale (I check my wishlist at least once a day to spot anything I want at a good price).

If nothing else, it may well go into a store-wide sale of 50% off or better during the March Madness sale period.