Looking to get into clothing creation

fazzio349fazzio349 Posts: 10
edited January 2022 in New Users

I've been using Daz for a few years now, and while I'm not claiming to be an expert I feel like I've got a decent hang of it. I want to take my skills to the next level and try my hand at creating clothing and hair. I've watched several tutorials, so I know it's going to be a learning curve, but I wanted to ask the community where should a beginner even get started? I have adobe creative cloud (mainly using photoshop), DAZ3d, and Blender (although I never learned how to use it.) I know there are other programs out there like Zbrush, Marvelous Designer, and Maya, but I have no idea which is better for beginners or if there's something else out there. This is just a hobby for me, so while I know most of these programs cost money, I don't want to be spending a ton of money on the software if I can avoid it, and if I am paying for something, I want to make sure it'll be something I can actually learn how to use on my own and won't overwhelm me with a ton of complex features.

Post edited by fazzio349 on

Comments

• SickleYieldSickleYield Posts: 7,633
    edited January 2022

Hi! I'm SickleYield! I do this for a living, including the occasional clothing set. I made my first clothes with just Blender, Daz3d and the GIMP. They were not Daz quality at first, because I was new to 3d art in general, but they worked. I have a tutorial in text and video. I recently also released a video tutorial on making joint-controlled morphs, something you will eventually also need to know if you are interested in making clothes.

Post edited by SickleYield on
    edited January 2022

With the links out of the way, a more opinion-related reply.