Best place to go after Carrara?

Hi folks, much as I love Carrara, I am starting a large project and Carrara just chokes on the number of polygons in it. 

Im really sad to ask this, but what are opinions on the best commercial alternative for a large-scale landscape model?

Comments

• Blender wink

• DiomedeDiomede Posts: 15,133

Here is a review of some software on this person's 'top' list.   Not specific to landscapes, but perhaps worth a look.  Agreeing with Wendy, Blender is on the list. I have no experience with the following landscape programs, but I've seen others mention Vue, Terragon, and World Creator.  https://all3dp.com/1/best-free-3d-modeling-software-3d-cad-3d-design-software/

• 3drendero3drendero Posts: 2,024
    As an example of where the action is (more users and more devs), the new 3rd party forums here at daz3d.com shows that Blender has 10x more threads and comments.
  • mschackmschack Posts: 337

Also the enormous amount of tutorials on youtube for basically everything.

• DartanbeckDartanbeck Posts: 21,331

Wow. Lot's going on in my time without internet... again! :|

As much as I love Carrara, I've always known that there is a whole world of 3D apps out there that do a lot better with many things.

I could go on about how lucky I feel to be in a position where Carrara rocks for what I want it to do, but we've all heard that before!

I know of 3ds Max, which is high dollar, but it's very good. My professional friend at Sony told me to use Maya, because it's like 3ds on steroids. 

We had a fellow who used to be a Carrara user but couldn't stand the Poser-esque interface and switched to Cinema 4D, and came back to claim that it works with Daz/Poser figures just as easily as Carrara - but I'm not so sure.

Many artists making products for Daz have switched from their expensive Maya/Max subscriptions to Modo, which was the big, growing craze. But it seems pretty costly now too, whereas as the time it seemed a lot more affordable.