Export from C8 for Sculptris?

edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

I'm trying to export a Vertex Object from C8 as .obj for use in Sculptris. When I try to import into Sculptris I always get the error "Can't Import - File contains no vertices". I have tried simple cubes and spheres, tried tesselating, triangulating, different export settings but always the same error. I can export from Sculptris and open in C8 with no problems.

THis is the most recent version of Sculptris. I know I saw references to importing Carrara obj files into Sculptris in the past but I can't find anything regarding any special file settings.

I must be doing something wrong but I can't figure out what.

Comments

• DartanbeckDartanbeck Posts: 21,332
    edited December 1969

I am no expert at doing this at all... but perhaps it's in the OBJ export options? I have never had trouble exporting obj files for importing into any other app - Sculptris included. Admittedly, I was following the teachings of Phil Wilkes in Infinite Skills' Advanced Carrara Techniques and it worked perfectly. He was even using Sculptris as his example.

• edited December 1969

That's what made me want to try this . . . the Phil Wilkes tutorial. I am just selecting the object (simple sphere or cube) in the Vertex modeler or the Assembly room and exporting as obj. There aren't that many options and I've tried most in many combinations. I was wondering if it was just this version of Carrara or Sculptris that is the problem. So I tried C7 on my old computer and got the same result. I also tried taking the sphere or cube and tesselating or triangulating once and then exporting. Same result. I have opened the .obj file with atext editor and there are vertices there and appears to be pretty much the same format as an obj from Sculptris.

I think I'll try opening a sculptris file in C8, export that and see if it wiil open in Sculptris. THen I can can compare 2 files .

• HeadwaxHeadwax Posts: 9,969